Print thumbnail
BSR003_1400x1400_300dpi_Sexy2 thumbnail
BSR003_1400x1400_300dpi_Gatefold thumbnail
BSR003_1400x1400_300dpi_PCD thumbnail

New Weather

BUY Gatefold, Limited-Edition White Vinyl LP – $22.98


BUY 16bit, 44.1khz WAVs DIRECT (includes artwork) – $9.99

Track List

1. Slip
2. Automatic Morning
3. Heat Death
4. 6EQUJ5
5. Everything

Release Info

Digital Release Date: October 22nd, 2013
Vinyl Release Date: Fall 2013
Catalog Number: BSR003


Produced by Sean Curley
Mixed by Allen Farmelo and Sean Curley
Mastered by Dave Fridmann
Artwork by Tomory Dodge
Deisgn by Betsy Frazer

About the Album

The musical and artistic pedigree of the trio New Weather can take a moment to absorb. Sean Curley has released a vast catalog of surreal and exploratory albums under various monickers, from the now coveted cassette-masterpieces by The Wallmen to Seattle’s space-pop duo, The Midget. Amber Rossino also fronts The Midget with Curley and makes minimalist-modernist jewelry informed by visual mathematics. Tomory Dodge is best known as a painter whose work has been collected by a number of major art museums internationally.

With their debut album, New Weather has accomplished something usually reserved for heady 20th century composers like Stockhausen or mid-Century jazz pioneers like Ornette Coleman: they created the sonic equivalent of abstract visual art. What is most unique in the case of New Weather is that the visual artist himself is in the band, a situation that allows New Weather to work directly from the impulses that generated the visual works themselves.

This isn’t to say that the trio set out to directly replicate Dodge’s paintings in sound. As Rossino explains, “This record wasn’t made with ideas of art and process in mind. New Weather was made as an expression of how we view ourselves in the shadow of End Times, surrounded by disintegration, entropy, and the beauty that exists in a pre-apocalyptic 21st century.”  Just as Dodge’s paintings can portray the intricate beauty in an explosion or an urban wasteland, New Weather’s music finds its own beauty, as dissonance and noise merge with lush synth-based arrangements into uniquely 3-dimensional, luminous and colorful soundscapes.

In spite of the weight of its themes, the music is anthemic and up-lifting – a delicate balance that in Curley’s hands as a producer, seems effortless. We hear the celestial scrapings of Stockhausen, the minimalism of Kraftwerk, the groove of Air, the ambient drift of Boards of Canada and the insistent psychedelia of early Pink Floyd all layered masterfully into New Weather’s own pre-apocalyptic revelry.

To make the album, Curley and Rossino received core ideas from Dodge (often in the malleable form of MIDI files) and splayed them onto the elaborate analog synth rigs of their Seattle-based studio where they layered textures, beats and driving arpeggios until these vast and compelling soundscapes emerged. Mixer Allen Farmelo (The Cinematic Orchestra, Talk Normal) and mastering engineer Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, MGMT) came into the fold for the finishing sonic touches. Finally, Tomory Dodge created the front cover art specifically for this release, and a print of his painting “The Future” adorns the entire inner gatefold of the 12″ LP.